The Alabama Writers Symposium, April 20 – 21

This year marks the 20th annual Alabama Writers Symposium in Monroeville, Alabama, where writers and scholars come together to celebrate Alabama’s literary heritage. This year’s events will be held on April 20 and 21.

In 1997, Monroeville was named the Literary Capital of Alabama by the state legislature. Tthe next year, the Alabama’s Writers Symposium was founded and has since grown. Notable guests have included Fannie Flagg, Rick Bragg, Mark Childress, Carolyn Haines, Winston Groom, Jeanie Thompson, Kirk Curnutt,George Plimpton, Watt Key and Ace Atkins.

All activities are conducted at Coastal Alabama Community College, the Monroeville Community House, and the Monroe County Museum. They include “discussion sessions, readings and workshops on themes ranging from Literary Gumbo to Murder, Mystery and Mayhem and everything in between.”

Special events include the presentation of the Harper Lee Award for Alabama’s Distinguished Writer, and the Eugene Current-Garcia Award for Alabama’s Distinguished Literary Scholar. This year’s recipients are Brad Watson and Michael Knight.

For more information about this event and ticket prices, visit the event’s website.

Image reproduced with permission.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s