Auburn Journalism Awards, 2016

On September 9, Auburn University will host their annual Journalism Awards honoring five “veteran media professionals”: David Housel, Phillip Marshall, Gillis Morgan, Ken Hare, and Rick Bragg are the honorees.

When asked about the forthcoming award, Pulitzer Prize-winner Rick Bragg told me, “I’m deeply honored to receive the award, and to be included with people I have long admired.” He also noted, “Auburn has been a part of my writing life since the very beginning. What a pleasure to be asked back.”

According to the press release for the awards ceremony,

The Auburn University Journalism Advisory Council established the honors awards in 2004 to recognize and celebrate the best and most enduring professionals in its field, both in this state and those outside it with Alabama roots. Only the Auburn University Journalism Alumnus award must go to someone with Auburn connections.

To attend the luncheon, contact John Carvalho at 334-844-4454 or by email at Tickets are $50 each, and the program starts at 11:30 AM.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s